Links to the Common Core Reading Anchor Standards

There are ten anchor standards for reading within the Common Core State Standards in English Language Arts.

These are divided into four bands:

  • Key Ideas and Details (standards 1-3)
  • Craft and Structure (standards 4-6)
  • Integration of Knowledge and Ideas (standards 7-9)
  • Range of Reading and Level of Text Complexity (standard 10)

The lessons and tools on this website focus on making connections between the first nine anchor standards and techniques for reading American artworks as rich, complex visual texts. You can read more about the standards in detail on the Common Core State Standards Initiative website.