Board 2

Each member of Board of Directors serves as an active ambassador of the Terra Foundation’s global mission. Collectively, they contribute a wealth of experience and expertise in the fields of art history, museum administration, art collection and business management, communications, finance, and law, among numerous others, to both govern and manage the activities of the foundation.

Gerhard Casper, Chairman

Gerhard Casper is a professor of law and president emeritus at Stanford University. During his tenure as president, he oversaw the renovation of the Cantor Arts Center and was an active supporter of programs in the humanities. Before joining the Stanford Law School faculty in 1992, he spent 26 years at the University of Chicago, where he served as the provost of the university, dean of the law school, and a professor of law. Professor Casper is a member of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences. He is also committed to international interests and is senior fellow at Stanford’s Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies.

Ruth Fine

Ruth Fine was a curator of prints and drawings and then of special projects in modern art at the National Gallery of Art, in Washington, D.C., from 1972 to 2012. She has organized exhibitions of twentieth and twenty-first-century American artists, including John Marin, Georgia O'Keeffe, Helen Frankenthaler, Jasper Johns, and Romare Bearden. She is chair of the Roy Lichtenstein Foundation and on the boards of the Richard Diebenkorn Foundation and the Fabric Workshop and Museum. Ms. Fine is working on exhibitions on the art of Norman Lewis, for the Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts, and Martin Puryear, for the Art Institute of Chicago.