Larne Abse Gogarty is the 2016–2018 Terra Foundation Postdoctoral Teaching Fellow at the Humboldt Universität, Berlin, where she will be working on a project entitled “Group work: sculpture, performance and politics in the United States, 1950–1980.”

Terra Foundation Postdoctoral Teaching Fellowships in Europe

In pursuit of its global mission, the Terra Foundation has recently expanded opportunities for the study of historical American art in Europe.


A teaching program at Humboldt Universität Berlin, at the Institute of Art and Visual History, will allow two postdoctoral fellows to teach and engage in research on American art history over a two-year period each (2016–18 and 2018–20). The courses are also open to students from the Freie Universität Berlin.

  • The 2016–18 Terra Foundation Postdoctoral Teaching Fellow at Humboldt Universität Berlin is Larne Abse Gogarty, who completed her PhD at University College London in 2015.

The call for candidates for 2018–20 will be advertised in fall 2017. For more information, please visit the Humboldt Universität website.


A new postdoctoral teaching fellowship program, hosted jointly by the Université Paris Nanterre and the Université Paris Diderot, will start in fall 2018. Fellows will be nominated for a two-year period (2018–20 and 2020–22). They will instruct American art history and visual culture to masters’ students in art history and American cultural history in combination with personal research. The postdoctoral teaching program will be accompanied by short-term visiting professorships offered and administered by the universities. The call for candidates will be announced in fall 2017. For more information, please visit the universities’ websites.

From 2009 to 2015, the Terra Foundation offered postdoctoral teaching fellowships at the Courtauld Institute of Art, in London; and Institut National d’Histoire de l’Art (INHA), in Paris.

Past Recipients: Courtauld Institute of Art


Hélène Valance, Université Paris Diderot-Paris 7


Ellery Foutch, University of Pennsylvania


William McManus, Princeton University


Elisa Schaar, Oxford University


Wendy Ikemoto, Harvard University

Past Recipients: Institut National d’Histoire de l’Art


Emily Burns, Auburn University


Sarah Archino, The Graduate Center, City University of New York (CUNY)


Jason Hill, University of Southern California


Jody Patterson, University College London