This project was initiated, funded, and developed by the Chicago-based Terra Foundation for American Art in response to the newly developed Common Core State Standards in English Language Arts. The Terra Foundation would like to acknowledge the partners listed below for their contributions.

Leadership Team

Jennifer Siegenthaler, Program Director, Education Grants & Initiatives, Terra Foundation for American Art

Sara Jatcko, Education Grants & Programs Associate, Terra Foundation for American Art

Tina Nolan, Ed.D., Project Manager, Tina Nolan Consulting

Donna Ogle, Ed.D., Common Core Specialist and Lead Literacy Specialist, National-Louis University

Steering Committee

Sarah Alvarez, Director of School Programs, Department of Museum Education at The Art Institute of Chicago

Heidi Moisan, School Programs Manager at the Chicago History Museum

Corinne Rose, Manager of Education at the Museum of Contemporary Photography*

Pemon Rami, Director of Education and Public Programs at the DuSable Museum of African American History*

Marissa Reyes, Associate Director of Education, School, Teacher, Family & Youth Programs at the Museum of Contemporary Art

Rachel Rooney, Director of Professional Development Programs for Teachers at the Newberry Library*

*Titles and affiliations at the time of the project

Museum Partners and Staff

The Art Institute of Chicago: Sarah Alvarez, Melissa Covington Tanner, Glennda Jensen Parker, Karin Jacobson, Robin Schnur, Georgina Valverde

Chicago History Museum: Megan Clark, Heidi Moisan

The DuSable Museum of African American History: Jomo Cheatham, Nevada Montgomery, Pemon Rami

Frank Lloyd Wright Trust: Shannon Greve, Jan Kieckhefer, Kim Scata

Intuit: The Center for Intuitive and Outsider Art: Joel Javier, Jerry Stefl

The Jane Addams Hull-House Museum: Irina Zadov

Mary and Leigh Block Museum of Art, Northwestern University: Maggie Borowitz, Judy Koon, Sarah Salto

Museum of Contemporary Photography: Corinne Rose

Museum of Contemporary Art, Chicago: Marissa Reyes, Lydia Ross, Lauren Watkins

National Museum of Mexican Art: Kristin Enright, Ricardo Serment, Alicia Serrano, Nancy Villafranca-Guzman

The Newberry Library: Hana Layson, Rachel Rooney, Charlotte Ross

Smart Museum of Art, The University of Chicago: Michael Christiano, Lisa Davis

Teacher Partners

Amy Andrews, Lincoln Elementary

Jennifer Barron, Kennedy High School

Rick Cardis, Evanston Technical High School

Jennifer Chisholm, Kingsley Elementary

Carol Gottlieb, Middleton School

Colleen McGinley, Dewey Academy of Fine Arts

Kim Moore, Fort Dearborn Elementary School

Jamilla Pitts, District 65 Social Studies Curriculum Facilitator

Sheri Snopek, Columbus Elementary

Kris Utley, District 65 Literacy Coach

Manuel Valderrama, Lane Technical High School

Ben Value, Chicago Academy High School

Kim Varner, Walt Disney Magnet School

Jessica Marshall, Alcott High School

Kelly Naughton, Chicago Public Schools

Content Editors and Readers

Char Cieply, Literacy Specialist

Diane Dillon, Ph.D., Content Specialist

Demetra Disotaur, Literacy Specialist

Daniel Greene, Ph.D., Content Specialist

Mary Hawley, Editor

Tobias Higbie, Ph.D., Content Specialist

Laura Lang, Ph.D., Literacy Specialist

Alissa Schapiro, Editing Assistant

Project Evaluators

Linnea Rademaker, Ph.D., FutureEd Evaluators

Doris Wells-Papanek, Tailored Learning Tools

Website Team

James Goggin, Practise

Charles Mutscheller, Terra Foundation for American Art

Scott Sayre, Sandbox Studios

Paul Wenzel, Co-op Media

Writing Advisors

Kris Wetterlund, Sandbox Studios

Juliet Bond, Columbia College Chicago

Elizabeth Partridge, Vermont College of Fine Arts

Special Thanks

Karen Erickson, Creative Directions

Martin Moe, Chicago Public Schools

Mark Skala, Skalawag Productions

Frank Valadez, Chicago Metro History Education Center

Ray Yang, Chicago Public Schools